What Would Maev Do?

All Business

I love the options available for women when it comes to business wear.  You can actually be quite couture and that opens up endless possibilities for self expression.  But of course the functional side of my brain screams every time I want to put on heels for an eight hour day;  man it hurts to look so good 😉

Working Girl

Working Girl

The inspiration for this scene is the movie Working Girl with Melanie Griffiths, Harrison Ford, and Sigourney Weaver.  It was the heyday of 80’s fashion with the huge shoulder pads, teased-to-death hair, and the sexist jokes.  The movie is a fairy tale story of making it in the business world (and who doesn’t enjoy that) and so I decided to match Melanie Griffiths’ looks with a modern update of Sigourney Weaver’s bitchiness and wardrobe.  This woman is all business, femininity, and tenacity without the tact.

What the bitch is wearing:

To duplicate Melanie’s hair, I chose a short, blond classic from ETD; Naomi in strawberry

The skin is Redgrave‘s Jennifer in smoky.  This is the only makeup I have for Jennifer, but I think it’s all you need for flawless drama without all the coloring that can sometimes clash with an outfit.  Definitely love versatility in a skin.

The blouse is sexy and classy and part of Mimikri‘s Modesty (what a contradiction in terms :P)

I paired it with Maitreya’s new High Skirt, shown here in Blossom.  Putting these two items together, to me, broadcasts to everyone in the office that “yea, I got the goods, but they aren’t for sale.”

I also played with the idea of wearing nylons; a must in most business situations.  But I decided that if I’m showing cleavage that it doesn’t make sense to not show off the calves.  If I had worn a high-collared shirt instead, I would have probably opted for tights.

To finish of this official look, I put on Maitreya’s Mishima Dawn in shiny/suede.

One response

  1. careerfashion

    cool look.

    April 9, 2009 at 1050

Leave a comment