What Would Maev Do?

Life is one big road with lots of signs

This last couple of weeks have been so very stressful for my RL.  Hence the lack of fashion in my blog and even time logged on to SL.  The project I was working on had a deadline and now that it has passed and I have done all I could do, I am hollow and depleted of energy and brain function, so my first inclination when free time came was to go on vacation.  Just take a couple of days to be with myself and nature, but I had to do this from my current location.

What better time to take advantage of the beautiful tropical sims of SL?  Some individuals know how to visualize paradise and I can readily dive right into a SL lagoon and feel the warm waters lap around my legs.  So I did a little shopping therapy and dedicated myself to sun, big drinks with umbrellas in them, and the hypnotic tones of reggae music.

Dont bury your thoughts

Don't bury your thoughts

Nothing like floating in the warm waters of the Caribbean.  You feel as though the tide not only takes away the sea, but also your worries.  Just lay back and let the ebb and flow of the ocean make your body and spirit one with the world.  Let the warm sun blanket you in heat as you slather your skin with the fragrant oils of Banana Boat sunscreen. Your cells almost forgot what the sun’s rays felt like as they replenish their supply of vitamin D.

Put your vision to reality

Put your vision to reality

Camping on the beach pushes all your inland troubles, allowing you to live as though deserted on your own world.  Sit on a big log of driftwood, as you gaze into the warm fire, its heat keeping away the coolness of the breeze that sweeps past you.  The waves that hit the shore and the crackle of burning wood are white noise to your peacefulness.  You sleep under the starts, the sand a natural mattress that curves around your body.  With no city lights, the night sky is not black but filled with the billion bright to dull lights of distant celestial bodies.  It fills your vision and you drift off to sleep knowing that they will watch over you until morning.

Wake Up and Live

Wake Up and Live

Sometimes you stay up all night, cheek touching the cool sand, as you watch the clouds roll in and the winds grow strong.  The power of weather and nature surrounds you as you are unprotected by man’s inventions.  You are humbled by its capabilities and feel your clothes and hair whip around you and you kneel at its magnificence.  The horizon stretching out in front of you and the rolling clouds over head make your worries seem superfluous.  The high is like nothing that’s been had before.

So that was my way of getting back to my normal life.  It is certainly not the last time I will need this, but luckily for me it works every time 😉

Vacation luggage includes:

For my bathing outfits, I have Swim‘s Red Bandanna bikini and The Hub‘s zebra print bikini.  For modesty (yes, I do have some, l0l) I used Awesome Design‘s platinum sarong from their Shiver Bikini collection.

My skin with the red bathing suit was Karamia‘s Mia in medium Bombshell; the red lips and high cheekbones give me a refined, classic look.  For the rest of my vacation I used Cupcakes‘ Seduction skin in Wheat, which I picked up from the Easter hunt before my trip.

The hair has range, but each fits for the image I want to convey.  For bathing, I liked the sunlightened look of ETD‘s Gwen in caramel; it was modern and gave the outfit structure.  For the early evening, I like the outdoor and casua look of Truth‘s Tahlia in pumpkin.  For the flowing evening gown, I wanted something equally haphazard and natural, so I always wear ETD‘s Ashley in a blonde tone; this time Sunny.

I wanted to travel light, so the only jewelry I took was Last Call‘s Wood, Metal, and Opal set.  It amazes me that after over a year of closing its doors, that Last Call’s wears remain some of my favorite pieces.

I did not want to wear shoes on my vacation as the sands have therapeutic powers for feet, but when I did wear something, they were flat sandals.  Shiny Things‘ Kelly flats and Detour‘s Layback flip flops.

The biege tank is from Armidi‘s sheer ribbed collection, of which I own all of since tanks are such a integral part to my wardrobe.  The cutoffs are Tres Blah‘s and I have had them for almost as long as I’ve been on SL.  The dress is Dolcevita in blue from BiancaF. and what a perfect name for such a bohemian gown.

The last thing is the hat in my hand in my bathing outfit.  It is really the inspiration for this shoot.  It is Elegance Hat‘s Lisette in red and when I imagined wearing it, I pictured the red bikini and the white sands and decided then that my vacation had to be taken in the Caribbean.

P.S. My vacation was taken at Bahia Tiki and Zen beach

P.S.S. The title and captions for this post are by Bob Marley

Leave a comment